crna schools

By | March 24, 2022

crna schools

crna schools

crna schools


  • An advanced practice nurse who is licensed and authorized to deliver anesthesia is known as a certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA).
  • Hospitals, outpatient surgical centers, dental offices, pain treatment facilities, and public health centers are all places where CRNAs can be found. A graduate degree, clinical practice, and certification are all required to become a nurse anesthetist.

Steps to become Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

Become a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN).

  • Nurses who desire to work as CRNAs must be registered nurses in one of the United States’ states or territories. You may need to complete an approved registered nursing education program and pass the NCLEX-RN exam to become a registered nurse.
  • You can earn an associate degree, a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), or a Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) by completing an accredited nursing program (MSN). The requirements for RN licensing differ from state to state.

Fill out an application for a CRNA program.

  • The Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs accredits CRNA programs (COA). A GPA of 3.0 or above, as well as a cumulative score of 300 or higher on the Graduate Record Examination, are standard entrance requirements in addition to RN license and practice requirements (GRE). Check the specific admission requirements for the programs you’re interested in.
  • CRNA programs vary in length based on the institution that offers them. Students in online CRNA programs may have more flexibility in their schedules and have the opportunity to engage in live classroom discussions. The accrediting standards for online programs are the same as for on-campus programs.

The National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists accepts applications for the National Certification Examination (NCE) (NBCRNA)

  • The major goal of the certification exam is to guarantee that nurse anesthetists have the information and abilities necessary to perform safely and efficiently. It also safeguards the CRNA credential’s value. During their educational program, students can sign up to take the Self-Evaluation Examination to assess their progress and prepare for the National Certification Examination.
  • CRNAs must take the Continued Professional Certification Exam every four years after passing the initial exam.
  • According to the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, all states require NBCRNA certification to use the title “nurse anesthetist” (PDF, 126 KB).

In your state of practice, apply for CRNA licensure.

  • CRNAs are allowed to work in all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia. CRNAs are classed as advanced practice registered nurses in many states and must be licensed by the appropriate state licensing authority.

CRNA schools – Illinois

  • NorthShore University & DePaul University
  • Millikin University & Decatur Memorial Hospital
  • Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine
  • Rush University
  • Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Related Links

cna programs
bachelor of science in nursing
cna online
nursing degree
online nursing programs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.