Construction Education and Training Authority (CETA) Bursary Application 2023-2024

By | January 14, 2022

Construction Education and Training Authority (CETA) Bursary Application 2023-2024

Construction Education and Training Authority (CETA) Bursary Application 2023-2024

Construction Education and Training Authority (CETA) Bursary Application

About Construction Education and Training Authority (CETA) Bursary

  • The CETA provides skills development services to the construction industry in order to meet the goals of the National Skills Development Strategy (NSDS III) and ensure that people acquire the critical or scarce skills required to help the industry become economically sustainable and globally competitive.
  • CETA conducts research on the skills that businesses require in order to better understand the talents that are required in the construction sector.
  • CETA is in charge of detecting skills shortages and implementing relevant education and training programs to meet the skills shortfall in accordance with the construction industry’s needs.
  • CETA also finances a variety of learning programs at public education and training institutions, including skills programs, learnerships, apprenticeships, internships, and bursaries.
  • The CETA has recently renamed the bursary programme to “Thapelo Madibeng Bursary” in honor of the late Mr Thapelo Madibeng, a core business executive who sadly passed away in August 2018.

The CETA facilitates and funds skills development through:

  • The development of qualifications
  • Accreditation of training providers
  • Research and development of the Sector Skills Plan
  • Allocation of Mandatory and Discretionary Grants
  • Monitoring of Projects
  • Quality Assurance of all accredited training in the sector
  • Certification of Learners

Documents needed when applying for the bursary

  • ID document/ birth certificate (certified copy)
  • Matric June results, if currently in Matric (certified copy)
  • Matric certificate, if completed Matric (certified copy)
  • Full academic record, if currently studying (certified copy)
  • Proof of acceptance to study at a tertiary institution
  • Parents/ guardians proof of income (latest payslips if employed/ affidavit if unemployed/ proof of social grant or pension if applicable/ doctors certificate if permanently disabled/ death certificate if deceased) (certified copy)

Eligibility criteria

  • South African citizen
  • Not older than 35 years of age
  • Achieved a minimum overall average of 60% in Matric
  • Achieved a minimum of level 5 for Mathematics in Matric
  • Achieved a minimum of level 5 for Physical Science in Matric
  • Studying full-time within one of the  fields of study mentioned below (undergraduate or postgraduate)
  • Studying at a registered and recognised public tertiary institution in South Africa (University/ University of Technology)
  • Passed the current year of study and have not failed more than 2 subjects
  • Not currently receiving funding from a CETA funded entity
  • Not an immediate family member of a CETA employee
  • Household income is NOT more than R350 000 per annum
  • Preference will be given to students from designated groups

Field of study the bursary covers

The Thapelo Madibeng Bursary will be awarded within the following Construction/ Built Environment fields of study

University studies:

  • Architecture (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Quantity Surveying (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Land Surveying (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Urban and Regional Planning (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Construction Management (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Property Development (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Real Estate (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Civil Engineering (Bachelor of Science degree)
  • Geomatics (Bachelor degree)
  • Civil Engineering (Advanced Diploma)

READ ALSO: South African Nursery Association Bursary

Universities of Technology studies:

  • Architecture (National Diploma)
  • Construction (National Diploma)
  • Building (National Diploma)
  • Quantity Surveying (National Diploma)
  • Town and Regional Planning (National Diploma)
  • Land and Property Development (National Diploma)
  • Geomatics (National Diploma)
  • Civil Engineering (National Diploma)
  • Electrical Engineering (National Diploma)

TVET College studies:

  • Civil Engineering and Building (National Certificate Vocational Level 2 – 4)
  • Electrical Infrastructure Construction (National Certificate Vocational Level 2 – 4)
  • Electrical Engineering (Rated N1 – N6)
  • Civil Engineering (Rated N1 – N6)

How to apply for the bursary

Qualified and interested persons should follow CETA Thapelo Madibeng Bursary Application Form (.pdf) to complete the application process.

Contact details of CETA

52 14th Road




Ms Danisa Mboni
Related Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.