cna certification 2023-2024

By | March 15, 2022

cna certification 2023-2024

cna certification

cna certification


  • CNA is the professional voice of Canadian nursing on a national and international scale. Across all 13 provinces and territories, we represent registered nurses, nurse practitioners, licensed and registered practical nurses, registered psychiatric nurses, retired nurses, and nursing students.
  • The mission of the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) is to advance nursing excellence and positive health outcomes in the public interest, to promote profession-led regulation in the public interest, to act in the public interest for Canadian nursing and nurses, provide national and international leadership in nursing and health, and to advocate for a publicly funded, not-for-profit health system.

CNA’s Objectives
CNA has set the following objectives in order to achieve the vision and mission:

  • To strengthen nursing and the Canadian health system by promoting and enhancing the role of nurses.
  • To influence and advocate for healthy public policy at all levels of government, including provincial/territorial, national, and international.
  • To improve nurse leadership for the benefit of both nursing and health.
  • Nurses should be more involved in the advancement of nursing and health.

CNA certification

Nurses with a CNA certification have a nationally recognized nursing specialty accreditation. There are 22 nursing practice specialties in the CNA Certification Program.

Nurses that are certified are;

  • Nationally recognized for their brilliance in practice and commitment to lifelong learning
  • Employers value certification because it indicates specific knowledge and provides numerous benefits to businesses.
  • Considered to have increased professional credibility


  • You must pass a difficult computer-based exam to become certified. Every year, there are two exam windows (important dates for 2022 coming soon). Depending on what you already know about your profession, your exam preparation will be unique. Many nursing specialty societies, as well as ourselves, provide a variety of exam preparation materials.
  • Your accreditation will be valid for five years if you become certified. You can renew your license after five years by presenting a record of continuous learning hours or retaking the exam.

New certification standards are being implemented to make certification more accessible.

  1. We want to make certification more accessible to nurses while still keeping our high standards and trustworthiness. You’ve told us that the CNA Certification Program needs to alter to keep up with changes in nursing curriculum and practice.
  2. As a result, the number of hours of specialist expertise that nurses must have in order to apply for certification will be reduced. There are two possibilities:
  • Within the last five years, you have 1,950 hours of experience in your nursing specialization (formerly 3,900 hours).
  • 1,000 hours of experience in your nursing specialty in the last five years, plus 300 hours of formal study, such as a specialist post-basic course or program at a college or university (as opposed to the former 2,925 hours of specialty experience plus education).

Related Links

what is a level 4 nurse
nursing courses port elizabeth
nursing courses quatre bornes
nursing courses adelaide
nursing courses online australia
nursing courses london
nursing courses degree
nursing courses melbourne for international students

cna certification 2023-2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.