By | March 28, 2022





  • An Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) who is prepared to prescribe medication is known as an APNP. This type of nurse has completed the appropriate educational and practical criteria in order to obtain a national certification that allows them to prescribe the essential medication to patients.
  • To work as an APNP, you must first obtain licensure as a registered nurse. This entails earning a bachelor’s degree in nursing (BSN) and passing the NCLEX-RN exam in order to become a registered nurse. After earning your bachelor’s degree and obtaining your licensure, you can apply for a master’s degree in nursing (MSN). With this degree, you will be able to obtain an APRN certification and work as an APNP. You’ll be able to do a variety of things once you’ve completed your master’s degree.
  • To be eligible for this certification, most licensing organizations will demand a specified amount of clinical practice hours in addition to the degree. The average amount of hours is roughly 500, therefore you should attempt to gain as many clinical practice hours as possible as you proceed through your studies.
  • You will be a qualified Advanced Practice Nurse Prescriber after achieving the prerequisites and passing the exam (APNP).

Job Description for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses

  • Aspiring advanced practice nurses are registered nurses who want to work in a specific field where they will have direct interaction with doctors. Nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, nurse anesthetists, and clinical nurse specialists are the most common forms of advanced practice nurses. To be considered for this post, you must have a master’s degree in nursing.
  • The master’s degree programs equip students for positions of leadership and participation in policy development as well as patient-care processes. Advanced practice nurses are also permitted to write prescriptions. The four types of advanced practice nurses are described in detail in the following sections.


  • Specialist Clinical Nurse

This type of nurse works one-on-one with patients who have unique requirements. Clinical care nurses specialize in nursing specialties such as mental health, pediatrics, geriatrics, and forensics, and are specialists in those fields. A forensic clinical nurse specialist, for example, might provide primary care to severe trauma victims while also collaborating with healthcare and criminal justice institutions to impact victim treatment practices.

  • Nurse-midwives

This subspecialty of advanced practice nurses focuses on caring for babies and their moms. Nurse-midwives are trained in a range of areas, including gynecology, postpartum care, neonatal care, family planning, and newborn child primary care. They are also present during the labor phase and assist.

  • Nurse anesthetists¬†

Nurse anesthetists are in charge of administering sedatives and pain medications to patients who are about to have surgery, are undergoing diagnostic testing, or are being examined. Nurse anesthetists aid in emergency situations with airway management and quick pain relief, in addition to being permitted to prescribe and deliver appropriate medicines and dosages in a controlled setting.

  • Licensed Practical Nurse

The most general of the advanced practice nurse specialty is this one. Nurse practitioners provide expertise in areas such as women’s health, mental health, adult acute care, geriatrics, and pediatrics to families and individuals. They place an emphasis on overall health and well-being, as well as patient education and prevention.

Related Links

community health nursing
nursing courses
retirement home
nursing informatics
cna programs
bachelor of science in nursing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.