By | April 19, 2022





  • Acute adult-gerontology care Nurse practitioners are health-care specialists who specialize in both acute care and geriatric care. They often work with patients who are enduring complex critical, episodic or deteriorating situations as acute care clinicians. Rather than those who require routine and preventive care, external link: open new AGACNPs treat a wide spectrum of patients, from young individuals over the age of 13 to geriatric patients with decreased general function.
  • Other nurse practitioners may focus on pediatric or family acute care, geriatric primary care, gynecologic and obstetric care, or a combination of these specializations. In addition to their registered nurse licensure, AGACNPs must have a postgraduate degree and national or state accreditation, as do all nurse practitioners.

What Is the Role of an AGACNP?
The scope of practice for an acute care nurse practitioner involves treating patients with acute and chronic diseases or injuries in a number of settings including emergency rooms, urgent care centers, and tele-intensive care units. An AGACNP’s job responsibilities are diverse and may include:

  • Assessing a patient’s immediate health situation.
  • Ordering and interpreting diagnostic tests.
  • Developing treatment plans.
  • Prescribing medication or medical devices.
  • Operating life-support systems.
  • Providing medical interventions, such as intubation, placing intravenous lines, or wound and injury care.
  • Managing patient pain.
  • Advocating for patients.
  • Communicating with patients and their families.

agacnp – education and certification

AGACNPs must have both specialized training and certification in order to practice. You must meet the following prerequisites to become an AGACNP:

  • An unencumbered RN or APRN license.
  • A two-year or four-year (preferred) undergraduate degree.
  • Successful completion of NCLEX-RN
  • Master of Science in nursing or doctoral degree in nursing.
  • Certification from the American Nurses Credentialing or the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.

To become an AGACNP, it typically takes at least six years: four years to complete a bachelor’s degree and two years to complete a master’s program and pass the certification exam. Many AGACNP graduate programs also require prior work experience as a nurse before admission. After completing your postgraduate degree, you can apply for certification tests at any time.

Related Links

hildegard peplau
rn programs near me
nursing programs
forensic nurse
staff nurse
adn nursing
medical surgical nursing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.